Still Smiling

You see all sides of an issue.

That’s what my horoscope says today.  Let me tell you what I see.  In the past month, I’ve been robbed, crashed, deceived, and misunderstood.  The individual stories are of no consequence.  Tonight, while driving home from picking up my brother… on the interstate…at high speeds, my car overheated.  Again. 

On the upside, I spent $45.00 at Barnes and Nobles for two new books.  Too bad I didn’t realize I’d need that money for car repairs.  Two books and a CD, because the radio was making me crazy.  Somehow, Barnes and Nobles, stuffed with books to the brim, didn’t have our next book club selection.  But I’m feeling a bit growly, so I won’t rag on them.  Instead, I bought “Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance” and “Blink”.  I think I’m looking for inspiration to get me through this run of bad luck.  I’ve read much about “Zen“, in different writing books mostly.  The front cover says, “The provocative, profound, and deeply affecting modern classic that has inspired millions”. Cross your fingers that it works for me.

But I’m going to start with “Blink”.  I’m kind of excited to read it, mostly because it’s different from most books I’ve read.  I’m used to reading fiction because you have to know your craft to write your craft, right? I’ve found though, that sometimes, it’s better to open your horizons, spread your parachute, flap your wings, or whatever analogy you want to use.  Read something different.   Find a new perspective.  Scan a new horizon.  Make different choices.

Which is what “Blink” is about, or so I gather.  So, tonight, I shall settle in for a long hot bath with a new book. 

Don’t worry about the run of bad luck.  I’m still smiling.

About author A. Lynn

A. Lynn has enjoyed the craft of writing since she finished the songs in Barry Manilow's songs as a five year old, prancing around her grandparents rural farm. Her style has changed as she's grown up. In the past ten years, she's experimented until finding her style and voice. Now, she's ready to take an effort to share her stories with the world. amberlynnk@yahoo.com View all posts by author A. Lynn

Leave a Reply

