66 years

“One day each of us will run out of tomorrows. Let us not put off what is important.”
Thomas S. Monson

If I live to be 100, I only have 66 more years.  This is my answer when people laugh at my work-a-holic tendencies. 

Do you know how much I have to accomplish in 66 years?  That’s assuming that I will live to 100.  If I don’t, I have substantially less time to write every book that’s in my head (I’m currently up four), totally remodel my house, travel to all the countries I want to see…And those are just the big things. 

I’ve never been a big fan of sitting still or vegging in front of the television.  This weekend, I plan on stripping my bathroom and remodeling from the floor up.  I even bought a green glass sink that looks like a leaf.  It’s awesome. I auditioned for the next community play and am waiting to see if I’ll have one more committment to fill my time.  My DI team is going to continue meeting when, in previous years, we’d be done.   And somehow, I need to fit in meditation and exercise because bikini season is coming.

But I haven’t been writing. The writer inside of me is hanging her head in shame.  We’ve been slacking, she and I.  Busy with Algebra homework and a bout of laziness, it just isn’t happening. A good friend granted me the favor of reading it before I finished the final draft and gave me fantastic points to ponder, which I’m constantly turning over in my head.  I have the color system and a plan of action. 

Common advice is to let your writing sit when you finish.  Look at it with a fresh eye.  But that 66 years nags from the back of my head.  ONLY 66 MORE YEARS!  GET WORKING!  So I’ve always ignored the advice and kept plowing through.  I now see the value of that advice.  In fact, I’m going to give myself until summer when my algebra course is finished.  Even if it kills me. And I’m worried that it might. But for now, I’m going to focus on Goals 1 and 2.  Starting with a complete bathroom overhaul this weekend. 

Excuse me, while I roll my sleeves back… If you don’t hear from me by next week, please call the authorities.

About author A. Lynn

A. Lynn has enjoyed the craft of writing since she finished the songs in Barry Manilow's songs as a five year old, prancing around her grandparents rural farm. Her style has changed as she's grown up. In the past ten years, she's experimented until finding her style and voice. Now, she's ready to take an effort to share her stories with the world. amberlynnk@yahoo.com View all posts by author A. Lynn

Leave a Reply

