Personal Ad

“Hi! My name is Amber and I’m 5’5” and 110 pounds.  I have shoulder length brown hair with a some wispy layers, and blue eyes.  My lips have a nice curve, like Betty Boop…”

Let me assure you that I’ve never introduced myself this way.  I’ve also never gazed in the mirror and described myself.  Nor have I thought about the color of my hair blowing in the wind.  Or whether or not my blue eyes reflect puddles when I cried. 

Funny, though, how many times I read those descriptions in fiction.  Wrote a few of them myself in my early days.  Good thing I can laugh at myself when reading through old works.  Which leads me to my train of thoughts as of lately.  Character description.  More specifically, POV character description, especially when using first person point-of-view. As I plow through “Dolly”, even when just reading it to keep in touch, I realized that I never…not once…tell the reader what she looks like.  There are no long glances in the mirrors, no hair whipping through the breeze, or awkward Personal Ad introductions.  I’m not sure I could tell you what color her eyes are.  And I made her.

Yet, she’s very real. 

Thus begins my next series of blog posts in which I have, for my own sake, broken down characters to four main descriptions.

1. Experience

2. Rationalization

3. Motivation

4. Perception

People are more than, well, cardboard cutouts, as are characters.  Initially, before the magic four, I intended to write a single post about how I write, or don’t write, POV character description. The more I thought about it, the more I had to say.  I asked a friend if she had anything to add to the list.  She answered, “Emotions?””  While I agree, I’ve decided that emotions are a reaction to the magic four, so I’ll tackle those later.  I’ve never been particularly good with emotions, fictional or not, anyway. 

So, on the upside, I have plenty of blog posts waiting.  On the downside, I’m still remodeling my bathroom and took an amazing part in the community theatre production of “A Little Murder Never Hurt Anyone”. Oh, and don’t forget Algebra.

Have I ever mentioned that I’m a work-a-holic? 

Good night, all.

About author A. Lynn

A. Lynn has enjoyed the craft of writing since she finished the songs in Barry Manilow's songs as a five year old, prancing around her grandparents rural farm. Her style has changed as she's grown up. In the past ten years, she's experimented until finding her style and voice. Now, she's ready to take an effort to share her stories with the world. amberlynnk@yahoo.com View all posts by author A. Lynn

Leave a Reply

