When Your Heart Smiles

“He smiled understandingly-much more than understandingly. It was one of those rare smiles with a quality of eternal reassurance in it, that you may come across four or five times in life. It faced–or seemed to face–the whole external world for an instant, and then concentrated on you with an irresistible prejudice in your favor. It understood you just as far as you wanted to be understood, believed in you as you would like to believe in yourself.” ~ F. Scott Fitzgerald

 I believe that I would have loved Gatsby, just from this description alone.  The rare smile that you may come across only four or five times in life.  I know these smiles, having met a few.  Rare are people who make my heart smile. Just being in their presence changes the color of light and highlights good. Inevitably, they leave and you are left to the ordinary smiles of every day life.  The world seems a little darker. 

 I’ve added a new character to Lisa’s life and I’m not sure where it’s going.  Because of all her experiences, she’s keeping him at an arm’s length away, unsure as to whether to allow him in her heart or not.  Fitzgerald’s description made me realize that my own description of this new character is lacking.  In fact, he’s under-developed because I didn’t know he even existed.  So, it’s back to work with me.  In the end, it will be the difference between happily ever after and return-to-the-box for Lisa.

 She’s closed herself off from the way he makes her feel, smiling inside and all, because he isn’t like her.  In fact, he’s quite the opposite, in more ways than one.  Yet, he makes her heart smile.  Her own little paradox.

 We do that, you know.  Push people away because they aren’t like us.  We hold our values and beliefs so high above our heads until our arms ache and we are left with out heart smiles.  Because it’s easier. It’s easier than asking the difficult questions that could lead us to understanding another. 

 Birds of a feather best stick together.  When I was in High School, I worked at the local zoo and made friends with George, a peacock that rushed the concession stand at the end of the night for leftover popcorn.  George was a bit of a loner and approached anyone.  Well, anyone who was willing to feed him table scraps.  I’m pretty sure that George has passed away, but he’s one of my most fond memories. An entire flock of peacocks lived at the zoo, but George broke free from limiting beliefs.  He preferred wandering among the cages, calling to the other animals, and entertaining the humans.  He didn’t buy into the idea that peacocks only belonged with peacocks. 

 I have a peacock tattoo on my hip.  I chose it to remind me of the other lesson I learned from George, the peacock.  Beauty is…  It’s nothing something one creates, or attains.  It’s not the house you live in, the degrees on your wall, the size of your checking account, the inches of your waist, the color of your hair, or the name on your jeans.  True beauty is unchangeable because it simply is. People who make my heart smile don’t do anything different.  They make my heart smile just because… well, they do.

 Who makes your heart smile?

About author A. Lynn

A. Lynn has enjoyed the craft of writing since she finished the songs in Barry Manilow's songs as a five year old, prancing around her grandparents rural farm. Her style has changed as she's grown up. In the past ten years, she's experimented until finding her style and voice. Now, she's ready to take an effort to share her stories with the world. amberlynnk@yahoo.com View all posts by author A. Lynn

2 responses to “When Your Heart Smiles

Leave a Reply

