Adventures ‘r’ Us

It is only in adventure that some people succeed in knowing themselves – in finding themselves.  ~André Gide

Ah, the premise of many movies.  My son Jaz made me watch Avatar when it came to OnDemand.  We curled up on the couch and prepared for, what I expected, to be a long action science fiction bore-fest.  Not really my cup of tea, so to say, but I’ll do anything for my son.  Man, emotionally and physically scarred, takes off into another world with blue people.  For real?

The movie was riveting. What?  Blue people flying on mountain banshee.  Beautiful cinematography.  Fascinating characters. My favorite part was watching the Jake Sully grow in the adventure thrust upon him simply because he was a twin.  The experience of walking again filling him with joy.  Freedom from paralysis opening his heart to love and a life that would never be the same.  He chose to stay blue. 

I’m not sure if my vanity would allow that kind of decision. I hate the color blue.

Adventure.  It’s easy to settle in for a movie about flying birds and blue people to satisfy our sense of adventure because real adventure…well, that’s a little scary. Things could happen and not always for the best.  Yet, there is something in our human souls that leaves us yearning for adventure. If that yearning is strong enough, simple movies no longer fulfill the need and we need to seek it out on our own.  As Jaz and I are doing.  The realtor visited my house today, so the wheels are turning to send us nine hours away from everything we know and love.  It’s an adventure. I’m not sure what’s going to happen when we get there.  I might go back to school.  But probably not.  If things work out the way I plan, I’m going to buy a small, cheap house and work part-time.  If things work out, I’m going to give myself a year to really put effort into my writing.  Follow my dreams.  Live an adventure.

Changes?  Yup.  We’re going to be facing many changes.  I feel like I’m standing on top of a mountain with a hang-glider and taking the leap.  Let the wind take me where it will.  While I’m throwing myself into the winds of change with no regard for caution, I’ve decided that it’s time to submit “Dolly”.  As much as I hate query letters and synopsis-izing.  As much as the little critic in the back of my mind points out flaws and begs for just one more edit.  As much as I’m not ready…I am.  And so is “Dolly”. 

I hope.  It’s an adventure.  But what would life be without adventure to show us who we are. Sometimes the greatest adventure we can have is to follow your dreams.

Off to pull my hair out writing a query letter!  I’ll let you know how it goes.

 

About author A. Lynn

A. Lynn has enjoyed the craft of writing since she finished the songs in Barry Manilow's songs as a five year old, prancing around her grandparents rural farm. Her style has changed as she's grown up. In the past ten years, she's experimented until finding her style and voice. Now, she's ready to take an effort to share her stories with the world. amberlynnk@yahoo.com View all posts by author A. Lynn

Leave a Reply

