Minimal

When I started to look at properties to purchase in our soon to be new town, I found my dream house. Log cabin siding. Fireplace. 3 bedrooms and a family room. The backyard was like a wooded retreat where I could imagine having bonfires with the new friends I’m going to make.

Even the price was right.

As I started to clean out my current house, now on the market, I began to question the changes I really want from this move, above and beyond my son’s education needs.

I hauled a lot of stuff out of my house, by the truck load. Remnants from old remodeling jobs, toys no longer played with, clothes too small, books not read, bits of this and that. Clutter. Too much clutter. It’s easy to let clutter take over your house, especially a two story with one more bedroom than you need, two large closets, and a storage room. That’s not considering the unfinished basement. A lot of stuff can fit down there. Then, there’s the garage and playhouse I built for my son’s birthday a few years ago.

Stuff. And lots of it.

As I cleaned, I started to think of the work I’ve done since purchasing the house. Refinishing all the wood floors took four months of intense labor. Remodeling the kitchen, bathrooms, new trim. Putting up the privacy fence and hours of mowing the large yard.

All of this work after forty hours of work to pay for it all.

I’m tired.

I’ve found a new dream house. It’s a small, one story bungalow with two bedrooms, a bathroom, kitchen, and laundry. It is everything we need and nothing more. The yard exists only in front of the house. It’s also one third the cost of my original dream house, which would take away the financial burden of doing it all.

Minimalism. That’s the change I long for in this move. If it works out, I’ll only have to work part time, leaving more time to spend with my son. More energy to cook healthy meals. More time to write.

This week, I wrote my query letter for “Dolly” and began submitting to literary agents. Writing a query letter is, let’s just say, difficult. Boiling 63,000 words of plot into one paragraph while making it compelling. As I worked on the query, I found myself think… “But I have to mention this,” and “I can’t leave out that part.”

Minimalism. It’s a theme that has taken over my life. I’m proud to say that my query letter ended up with less than 100 words. I was even worried that it was too short. Yet, I can’t find a way to make it longer without finding myself lost in the typical habit of over-explaining.

“One day I will find the right words, and they will be simple.” ~Jack Kerouac

KISS.  Keep It Simple, Silly.  That’s exactly what I plan on doing.  And now, for the waiting game to see if my simple query, and new simple life, works.

 

About author A. Lynn

A. Lynn has enjoyed the craft of writing since she finished the songs in Barry Manilow's songs as a five year old, prancing around her grandparents rural farm. Her style has changed as she's grown up. In the past ten years, she's experimented until finding her style and voice. Now, she's ready to take an effort to share her stories with the world. amberlynnk@yahoo.com View all posts by author A. Lynn

One response to “Minimal

Leave a Reply

