Quiet in a Room Alone

“All of humanity’s problems stem from man’s inability to sit quietly in a room alone” ~Blaise Pascal

Now, comes the time when I’m ready to sit quietly in a room alone.  My life has been in motion since the end of May, in more ways than I’ve admitted aloud, and I find my mind restless and jumping from one thought to another with little clarity and focus.  It’s a problem in this connected and social world that we’ve come to know.  Always a text ringing.  Comment on Facebook.  Ooh!  Look at that Tweet.  I must share.  Hey!  Check out the link I sent you on YouTube.  It’s hilarious!  (My son loves links from YouTube).  Scanning the homes for sale on Realtor.com.  Checking for new job postings.  Seeking out my house listing that no one seems interested in.  Juggling the “I’m going to miss this…” with the “I can’t wait for my new life” while battling doubts that it will ever happen.  This is all just the beginning of the raging tornado in my head.

So, this week, I take a break.  No Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Texts, or any other form of in-person socializing, or technology driven.  Just me and myself enjoying a brief vacation from the world and it’s influences.  I’m looking forward to it.  I’m pretty good company, if I do say so myself.   I’m not going to worry about house sales or moves.  No worries for whether or not I say something clever to be retweeted.  No entertaining quips about  my day to day on Facebook. No checking my phone every two seconds hoping that someone in the world didn’t forget that I existed. 

In this week, I’m going to do what I did to my house a few weeks ago.  I’m decluttering.  Sorting through thoughts and worries to determine their worthiness of space.  I think I’ll be disposing of many thoughts, which will leave room for the things that matter.  Such as creating clear guides for my priorities and goals.  Blame the ADD, but I have a lot of priorities and goals written on post-it notes and stuck in a drawer with no sense or order.  Perhaps I’ll pull that drawer open and begin sorting through the slips and combine them into one, easy to achieve list.  (As my friend CW LaSart, said, “What kind of sorry-ass writer doesn’t have post-it notes?”)

No fears, no worries.  I also intend to make some order out of my writing during this next week. I’ve become scattered in my work, starting stories as they come to me, but never getting to the end.  I shall also blame that on the ADD, because it’s a great scapegoat.  Two stories are tapping their toes and checking the clock.  This week, they will be put back on the desk and finished. Followed by a calendar of contests and submissions that I intend to complete over the next six months. This is my way.  My brother, Michael, always jokes about my plans.  Nothing happens unless I have a plan.  He’s right.  My life becomes to chaotic without lists and calendars and notes put in order. So, I bid you all farewell to next week.  I’m off to be with myself.  I imagine it will be a lot like this picture, taken by my father, from the lake we’d walk around in a cozy village next to base.

About author A. Lynn

A. Lynn has enjoyed the craft of writing since she finished the songs in Barry Manilow's songs as a five year old, prancing around her grandparents rural farm. Her style has changed as she's grown up. In the past ten years, she's experimented until finding her style and voice. Now, she's ready to take an effort to share her stories with the world. amberlynnk@yahoo.com View all posts by author A. Lynn

One response to “Quiet in a Room Alone

  • silverfinofhope

    You know that Virginia Woolf quote right? The one about every woman needing her own money and her own room? I think the update should read…”and the occasional facebook disconnect”. I think we as writers embrace social media so much because our work is so solitary. It bolsters us. But as passionate people, we tend to get a little…obsessive? Anyway. Good luck, relax, hope the jitters aren’t too bad. xoxo

Leave a Reply

