I Do Declare War

I’ve declared war on Sprint today.  It feels kinda nice, actually.  Warm and cozy fighting for a cause, even if it is only personal.  I could tell you the whole story, but that’s just plain boring.  All that knows is that I’ve stood up with my fist in the air singing, “I’m not going to take it.  NO!”  A song I generally hate, but seems to fit so well.

Oh, dear, there goes empowered me again, ranting about this or that. I find myself doing it a lot.  As I work on my NaNo novel, I reread my work from last night and lost a couple thousand words of pointless ranting.  A brief section on the belittlement of skinny chicks and how women will never be equally represented in Congress, much less the White House, until we can worry more about the economy and global standing of the United States and less about whether a size 16 looks better than a size 4.  Then there was a lovely little rant about the dying education of our children that will lead us into a reincarnation of the dark ages.  Except that we won’t be pounding stones, but computers with brainless tapping. 

And those were the ones I deleted yesterday. 

It’s a bad habit, these little tangents of causes that make my blood boil.  Yet, I’m proud to be passionately alive on this planet.  Stagnation is a quick sand that kills many.  When one becomes more worried about the minivan,  loose picket in the fence, what’s for dinner.  How should I color my hair this time?  Hey, honey!  Is Fido due for shots? 

Not that those things aren’t important , but passion for a world beyond that tends to get lost in the shuffle. I’ll continue deleting the scenes from my  novel because it’s not the time or place.  But those passions will remain alive in my heart.  Perhaps one day, I’ll find the right story to express them. 

My apologies if this post seems a little erratic.  Truth is, I needed a distraction from the rage, which rings a little different from passion.  There is no way I’m paying that extra $100.00.  I have documentation this time.  Sprint, it’s on.

Till next time.

 

NaNoWriMo word count.  13, 566 to date.

About author A. Lynn

A. Lynn has enjoyed the craft of writing since she finished the songs in Barry Manilow's songs as a five year old, prancing around her grandparents rural farm. Her style has changed as she's grown up. In the past ten years, she's experimented until finding her style and voice. Now, she's ready to take an effort to share her stories with the world. amberlynnk@yahoo.com View all posts by author A. Lynn

Leave a Reply

