Weakness.

Don’t post your feelings on Twitter.  It makes you seem weak.  Thank You.

This was a recent post on Twitter that made me stop and ponder for a second.  I’ll admit that a passing thought wondered if she was talking about me.  My day was kind of rough and I dropped a few posts that maybe had something to do with my feelings.  Posts about friendships that I question, and obstacles preventing me from returning to college.  This was all before I realized that my entire first draft of “Itsy’s Ugly” is gone. Poof!  Nothing left but three drafts of the first chapter.  Maybe a few vague posts did make me seem weak. That weakness may someday come back to haunt me when I’m saving the world.  New reporters will scour my past tweeting history until they find it….AH-Hah!  She’s not fit to save the world.  On July 2, 2012, she did, indeed, show a streak of weakness!  Here’s the proof!

I will save them the trouble.  It was not the first show of weakness, nor will it probably be the last. I had a bad day.  It seems as if I will have to postpone returning to school AND I lost my entire novel.  I believe that I’m entitled to an evening of weakness, thank you.  I will not apologize.

That is the world in which we live, isn’t it.  Weakness is public enemy #1.   Or perhaps public annoyance.  We don’t like weak people.  Those who fall prey to bullies.  Those who believe with naiveté.  Those who wear their hearts on their sleeves.  Those who love.  Those who show compassion when none seems warranted.  Those who cry. Are they not the most annoying people in the world?  The emotional bastards!  How dare they annoy us!

It has been said that which annoys us are reflections of what is in us.  Perhaps we don’t like when other’s express their weaknesses, whether mental illness or a simple bad day, because it reflects our own weaknesses.  Perhaps it’s a mirror we don’t want to see.  There are better mirrors.  Mirrors that reflect only what we can change about ourselves.  Hair.  Beard. Weight. Teeth.  Things that are easily fixable.  Things we wish to reflect the strength so admired in our society.

Yet, it is our weaknesses that teach us how to grow. Our struggles gave us navigation for the journey.  Our bad days?  Appreciation for success.

Tomorrow is a new day.  I’ve got several phone calls to make to amend the situation concerning college.  “Itsy’s Ugly” may be erased from the computer but I still know the story.  Perhaps this time, it will be a better story.  I’m not going to beat myself up for expressing my feelings on Twitter to a couple thousand strangers.  So what!  Sometimes I’m weak.  I’m sorry if that makes you uncomfortable.  Maybe it’s time we all get over it. Because your discomfort won’t stop me from saving the world.

About author A. Lynn

A. Lynn has enjoyed the craft of writing since she finished the songs in Barry Manilow's songs as a five year old, prancing around her grandparents rural farm. Her style has changed as she's grown up. In the past ten years, she's experimented until finding her style and voice. Now, she's ready to take an effort to share her stories with the world. amberlynnk@yahoo.com View all posts by author A. Lynn

2 responses to “Weakness.

Leave a Reply

