6 years

Six years ago.  It’s a little overwhelming to think about it.  Six years ago.

My son was having a rough time…six years ago.  Troubles in school, troubles with friends.  Just plain troubles.  One of his struggles came in the form of soccer.  He had started at the beginning when the game is just little kids running back and forth in a herd chasing the ball.  In the beginning, my son had his famous pterodactyl moves while waiting for the ball. He made an excellent pterodactyl, by the way.

But sixth grade soccer was different.  The kids were competitive.  The coaches were jerks.  He overheard them more than once making belittling comments about himself and his team mates, particularly the ones that weren’t “good”.  He didn’t enjoy it.  In fact, he hated it and would moan and groan, and sometimes cry, when it was time to go to practice or a game.

You can’t quit once you’ve made a commitment.  

That’s what people say.  Every week, it was the same fight, the same begging, the same angry looks when I wouldn’t give in.  Because I listened to the wisdom of the ages.  You must finish what you start.

I didn’t listen for long.  Because over that really hard year, I learned a valuable lesson.  I learned that life is too short to be anything but happy.  So, I let him quit the team.  In the middle of the season. And I have no regrets.  It slightly inconvenienced his team, but not much.  His coaches called and left me messages, using “Mom-guilt” to attempt to persuade me (the use of mom-guilt to diminish women is a post for another day).

Life is too short to spend your days convincing yourself to remain in an unhappy situation.  Any unhappy situation.  And you are doing yourself no favors justifying your misery to make life more convenient or easier for others. Nor are you under any obligation to do so.  Because they aren’t the ones who will mourn the time wasted being miserable.

I’ve recently found myself in the same situation.  I wasn’t happy.  And many days, I was downright miserable.  I wasn’t living, I was just trying to get through every day.  I was merely surviving. And I lost time.  Until the day I had a brilliant thought.

I don’t have to do this. 

And that started something that’s going on yet.  I’m not sure if my new adventure will bring me happiness. I’m not sure of anything.  Oh, but I have so much hope, which is a good start.

Your happiness is your only obligation.  Don’t settle for anything less.  

About author A. Lynn

A. Lynn has enjoyed the craft of writing since she finished the songs in Barry Manilow's songs as a five year old, prancing around her grandparents rural farm. Her style has changed as she's grown up. In the past ten years, she's experimented until finding her style and voice. Now, she's ready to take an effort to share her stories with the world. amberlynnk@yahoo.com View all posts by author A. Lynn

Leave a Reply

